Lake Mungo

Lake Mungo

Part of CLAPPER's 2020 Halloween Series
LAKE MUNGO: Traditional Ghost Story or Exploration of Grief?

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’s theory of what the stages of grief look like has become an often-referenced guide to frame the thinking around the acceptance of death, suggesting the process involves five key steps: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and finally acceptance. Applying this framework to Lake Mungo will provide insight into how the film achieves this tone of constant dread, perhaps explaining why it has become such a case of intense horror for so many of its fans.

- Kyle Gaffney

Read the rest on CLAPPER

CLAPPERltd liked these reviews